reading > the spirit catches you and you fall down

Another NYC food break.

I’ve had this book in my to-read pile for way too long. Its density makes it a tough night time reading companion but the story and the lessons are compelling and interesting. While I don’t often like to lug “real” books with me on travels I was determined to finish this so I took it with me on my NYC trip.

spiritcatchesyou

The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down centers around the lives of a Hmong family and their daughter that has epilepsy. It is at once a 101 in traditional Hmong culture (ps that’s Hmong with a silent H and not Mongolian – those are two totally different ethnic groups) and a reminder on why its important to be culturally sensitive.

I had a special interest in this book because one of my closest friends is Hmong. While her family isn’t totally traditional, it was still a nice slice of insight into Hmong culture.

The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down via Amazon

Leave a Reply

