eating > cherry crisp ice cream

I have a new found desire to make use of my many cookbooks and the first beneficiary of my attention is Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams at Home (Amazon link). Can you believe it took me a year to finally make something from this book?

jenisplendid

I followed Jeni’s base recipe with a few adjustments:

  • I put in 1/2 cup of sugar rather than 2/3 because that just seemed like it would be way too sweet given the other sugary things being thrown in.
  • I cooled the mixture in the fridge rather than in a Ziploc ice bowl bath.
  • I added the cherries and streusel while the ice cream was churning (after it got stiffer) rather than folding them in later. Really, I wanted pink ice cream and for the cherry flavor to permeate throughout.
  • I made half of the crisp recipe since I didn’t want to end up with 3 cups of it lying around.

This is specifically a variation of the the Ugandan Vanilla Bean Ice Cream on page 148. Let’s be real though. Who has Ugandan vanilla beans other than, like, Ugandans and Iron Chefs? Nobody. My goal was to have an ice cream that tasted like cherry pie.

cherrycrispicecream

Here are my notes after giving this the ice-cream-machine whirl.

  • Even with the sugar level change it was still a touch too sweet. I would go with 1/3 cup next time.
  • The base recipe is actually pretty easy (thank goodness no eggs!) but the mix ins add to the work.
  • Make sure you give it a good whisk after it cools and before you put it in the machine since the cream cheese has a tendency to clump.
  • Very rich and tasty with the streusel giving it a nice texture variation and pie-feel.

Verdict: Will definitely be trying the rest of the post-it’d recipes.

4 thoughts on “eating > cherry crisp ice cream

Leave a Reply

