wearing > hair by kacie

I have been talking about coloring/highlighting my hair forevahhhhhhhhh. I was scared of the commitment, the upkeep, and finding the right stylist (there’s an intimidation factor here, no?).

Instagram makes it so easy to peruse the work of local stylists and find one that can do the look you’re going for. Try searching for #behindthechair, #balayage, #ombre, etc.

hairbykacie

After a particularly stressful week I was more than ready to get my hair (finally) did. Kacie is at Z Salon on Stevens Creek just down the ways from Santana Row. She is friendly, no nonsense, efficient, and knows her stuff.

I showed Kacie an album of looks I had saved from Instagram (mostly hers and also a few others) of what I was going for – mostly more natural, subtle, darker brown balayage and highlights. I also showed her one more aspirational look – a very cool black to gray/silver ombre.

I ended up a bit lighter than I was aiming for but I’m really diggin’ it! It’s nice to have some dimension and see my layers. I’m excited to do my little updos and braids because they’ll look so different with the contrast. At the same time she left my roots really natural and so it should grow out nicely and not require me to redo it unless I want to (hello, commitment-phobe).

Kacie was also nice enough to squeeze in a quick trim to correct some of the miscut layers from my last haircut. It’s all so fresh feeling! Love getting my hair done. The whole shebang was $300 (plus tip) which I thought was really reasonable (esp because I have a ton of hair).

Kacie Nguyen Hair: Instagram, bookings online available at Styleseat

Hair by Priscilla (assisted): Instagram

Z Salon: 3977 Stevens Creek Blvd, Santa Clara, CA 95051

Leave a Reply

