reading > when breath becomes air

Bear with me, we’re gonna get all personal.

I sometimes read cancer blogs.

I found strength, comfort, and perspective in reading how ordinary people weathered the storm. How a single piece of news can change everything. How your life changes and the ways you try to keep it the same. How families show unconditional love.

While my own prognosis has always been (thankfully) exceedingly positive, there have been a few darker days. These blogs made me feel a little less alone. They inspired me to face the harder days with a brave face.

I don’t reach for cancer books as often. I find that my reads into cancer are usually from too much overzealous late night Googling and books require much more planning. This one was highly recommended by Jane and I’m so glad I got my hands on it.

whenbreathbecomesair

Paul Kalanithi was finishing up his residency in neurosurgery when he was diagnosed with terminal lung cancer. He also had dreams of becoming a writer so the intersection of both his medical background and his skills as a writer make for something beautiful. I was constantly fighting the urge to highlight all over the book (I opted instead for some post it flags).

Recreational crying. Lots and lots of it.

Amazon: When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

4 thoughts on “reading > when breath becomes air

  1. Anxioustweetybird says:

    Hi,
    Thank you for the reading suggestion. I too read cancer blogs, mostly not to feel alone. My husband has recently been diagnosed with stage 2 testicular cancer, and everything seems like scary place. I’ve been searching for reading material for the both of us.

    -Vee

Leave a Reply

