wearing > december 2016 empties & abandons

Some of the usual suspects and some newbies this round.

Hair

dec2016empties3

Matrix Biolage Scalpsync shampoo $17 from Ulta // This is my go-to shampoo because I get the flakies like nobody’s business AND it’s suitable for color treated hair AND it smells awesome. This bottle lasted from January to August. Already repurchased.

Redken Color Extend Magnetics conditioner $38 from Ulta // This was my first ever conditioner post-coloring my hair for the first time. That’s right, I bought this bottle back in January and it lasted until the end of October. In true kismet Ulta was having a sale on hair stuffs so I paid around $22 for this huge bottle. I generally liked this and it smells great but prefer my current Joico K-pak conditioner so no plans to repurchase. (Note: the cap is different because it’s from my current conditioner.)

Batiste Dry Shampoo in Cherry $7.99 from Ulta // My addiction to dry shampoo continues to grow since I only wash my hair every 3 days or so now. (Achievement unlocked: super *lived-in* hair.) I usually buy this at Marshall’s for a dollar or two less.

Caviar Anti-Aging Moisture Intense Oil Creme Pre-Shampoo Treatment deluxe sample // I got about 5 uses out of this and it smells lovely. I used it whenever I did the full deep conditioning shebang on my hair. I would probably not go out and purchase the full size but I definitely would not mind another sample.

Kenra Nourishing Masque $23 from Ulta // Also bought this after I first colored my hair (and paid a few bucks less). I used it probably once a month or so to deep condition my hair. It did its job but wasn’t earth shattering. I will probably try other deep conditioners before settling on a go-to. Won’t repurchase yet.

Skincare & Body

dec2016empties

Heroine Make Eye Makeup Remover $10 from Amazon // No. Doesn’t work any better than the Rimmel makeup remover which is cheaper and easier to get my hands on. Would not repurchase.

Dermalogica Solar Defense Booster $50 from Ulta // I dunno how I ended up with 2 of these. I think I had one in my travel pouch. I’m really digging the Shiseido Aneesa sunscreen that Jen got me so will probably repurchase that instead.

Kirkland Signature Daily Facial Towelettes $14 for the box on Amazon // Finally the last batch of these! Good for taking off make up, but not my favorite smell. Would not repurchase.

CeraVe moisturizing cream $15.99 from Ulta but cheaper from Costco where mine is from // I come back to this every once in awhile but never… crave it. Is craving lotion a thing? I’ll probably repurchase at some point.

fresh Soy Face Cleanser $15 from Sephora // My new favorite. I love the gentle tingling on this. My face feels clean but not too dry and it has a nice fresh smell. Already repurchased the enormous sized version.

Sephora Lingzhi sleeping mask $4 // I think these are only supposed to be single use but I used it 3x and didn’t finish it. I ended up putting it in the empties basket since it was open for longer than I would like. Felt lovely on my face, didn’t smell too strongly, would purchase.

Korean towels $6 for a pack of 8 from Amazon // Love these for some vigorous exfoliation. Would repurchase.

Dermalogica Essential Cleansing Solution $37 from Ulta // Ye olde staple. Prefer my new cleanser though so will probably not repurchase for awhile.

Dermalogica Daily Microfoliant $55 from Ulta // This is an old favorite but I have about 1/5th of the bottle left. The powder inside had turned so I had to throw it out. Already repurchased.

Lavanila The Healthy Deodorant in pure vanilla $14 from Sephora // My fave. Already repurchased.

Makeup

dec2016empties2

NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Copenhagen $5.99 from Ulta // Love this deep, blood red color but this tube was pretty old and the cream didn’t look quite right (likely separated). I’m not a huge fan of this formula as I prefer either the traditional liquid lipstick that dries matte or a standard bullet that stays creamy but not slippery.

Stila All Day Liquid Lipstick in Caramello $24 for the full size at Ulta // One of my fave formulas but holy cow this color looks horrible on me. Obviously not a repurchase.

Heroine Make Mascara Long & Curl $18 from Amazon // Forever. Have an embarrassing number of backups…

Nars Radiant Creamy Concealer in Custard $29 from Sephora // My HG. Already repurchased.

beautyblender $20 each from Sephora // UGH. I hate throwing these away but I took them with me traveling and now they each have a black stain that I can’t get out. Since I’m scared it’s mold or something, I’m not keen on putting it back on my face. Don’t worry I have 5 other BB’s that are holding down the fort. Don’t do the math on how much I’ve spent on sponges.

Whoa that was a lot!

2 thoughts on “wearing > december 2016 empties & abandons

Leave a Reply

